New vice chairman and directors for BDoY

Keith Fieldhouse has been elected vice chairman of the UK Bus Driver of the Year Association and three new directors have been appointed as a trio of long-standing industry stalwarts stand down, Douglas Bailey, Andrew Braddock and Frank Llewellyn.

Keith Fieldhouse is recruitment and training manager for First Manchester and is well-known to BDoY competitors as the person responsible for the course used to test bus drivers’ skills at the national final in Blackpool.

And joining BDoY as directors are former coach and bus trade magazine editor Mike Morgan, delegated examiner John Jardine and training manager Pat Toner from Lothian Buses.

Joe Mackie has been re-elected as chairman and John Winstanley as finance director.

Douglas Bailey, who received an MBE for services to passenger transport in 2005, sat on the council for 23 years, while Frank Llewellyn clocked up 17 years. Both were trade union officials.

Urban transport consultant Andrew Braddock traces his unbroken involvement with BDoY back to a first local Bristol heat in 1972. He subsequently became vice chairman with a wide-ranging role. His multiple functions have been distributed among other council members, including Mike Morgan who is now responsible for media relations.

“Their joint service amounts to 70-plus years and they helped BDoY grow to the position it is in now,” says Joe Mackie, speaking of the contribution made by the three retiring members.

Next year’s BDoY national Final is in Blackpool on 6 September 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *